Rooting and Uprooting.


Ganesha is a Hindu deity, recognizable by the head of an elephant. According to Moola Bandha, The Master Key by Swami Buddhananda, “The deva, male aspect of mooladhara, is Ganesha.”

Ganesha is known as the “remover of obstacles” and “lord of beginnings.” And only now am I beginning to appreciate the uprooting aspect of getting rooted.

I think when I started this project I was focusing more on connecting with the foundations of my body as a way to remain steady and secure within myself. And this can certainly be an outcome of this kind of inquiry, to be sure.

But another thing that can happen is that I could discover that what has rooted in my foundation is not what should really be growing there. In that case some uprooting would be necessary.

This body is called the field. He who knows this is called the knower of the field.
~Bhagavad Gita

What if I were to discover that fear had been at the root of actions that have become deeply established as habit? I think I might need a spiritual roto-rooter!

Enter Ganesha, remover of obstacles—whatever that means…

I used to think that Ganesha might symbolically represent removing what seems to be getting in the way of what I want. But from where I am standing in this moment, imagining Ganesha hangin’ out at the symbolic origin of all action, I think that what Ganesha represents might be much more awesome than removing a woman from the man of my dreams, or removing the glass barrier between me and that cookie I want to eat (as petty examples).

If Ganesha represents the potential to change the very birth-place of actions, wow! That is huge.

I have heard that it is possible to change anything that has been learned (conditionings). A bad habit that has been repeated many times, may not be easy to change, but it can be done.

This entry was posted in Book, Investigation, Symbol and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rooting and Uprooting.

  1. Claudia says:

    I have heard that it is possible to change anything that has been learned (conditionings). A bad habit that has been repeated many times, may not be easy to change, but it can be done.

    I have heard the same thing, have succeeded at some, and I agree, not easy… but can be done, I think that is what yoga is all about, thanks for bringing Ganesha to the lime light! 🙂

    I was talking to an Indian woman today and she told me that in her home altar she has three deities the first is, of course, Ganesha, to remove all obstacles, then Lakshimi, for abundance, and Shiva

  2. Brooks this is a wonderful teaching ♥

  3. Difficult as it is, bad habits can be replaced with good habits. One of my favorite quotes is that establishing a habit is like walking through deep snow. While breaking the path is very difficult, the more you walk it the easier it gets until the path is so clear it’s not worth breaking a new one.

    Great post. Ganesh is one of my faves, he hangs out with me in my meditation spot.

  4. What an interesting take on Ganesh and the removal of obstacles in our lives. Definitely going to ponder that this weekend. Long time fan of Ganesh – got an autographed picture of him up on my office wall!

Leave a Reply

