The Yoga of Money and Things.

Just like it’s important to know where your feet are in yoga, it is also important to know where your money is and things are in your life.

There was a time when I thought that I was learning specific techniques and practices in yoga to transport my mind to a happy place, which yoga tends to do very well for me. So my goal was to go to that special experience and as I became a teacher to also teach others about this. This is a great option to mundane existence, I realized. Yoga offers effective technique to change your state of mind and feel good in the body.

And now I’m thinking that this is shallow yoga. Barely a taste…

Because I am currently addressing challenges in what I once might have called “mundane life”… I don’t think I had much respect for daily experiences like paying bills and cleaning the house, except when it had to do with yoga. The outside world was where my hopes lived, for the most part, as well as the inner bliss of yoga. But that median place of home and finances went neglected.

But now, my yoga appears to be precisely in my home and personal finances. I am beginning to see hope there.

Hope can come during the darkest time. For example when the house is at its most disorganized, is when every little thing done makes a big difference.

I’m thinking that acknowledging my limitations will open up options for me. Similar to the way knowing my feet opens up potential for balance, understanding financial parameters might also help to stabilize a situation.

And this connects with the earthly concerns symbolically associated with the Muladhara chakra, like security, food, shelter, and money, essential elements of living in a city today.

So it’s funny how my research project is really at the heart of my life right now. And it is yoga.

Through the Mula lens, my apartment is spiritual, as is my money because these form the base for my life expression, just like Muladhara chakra forms the metaphoric and experiential base for my body’s energy.

This entry was posted in Investigation, Money, Personal Story, Symbol and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Yoga of Money and Things.

  1. Cristina says:

    I totally agree with you : yoga is not just for the spiritual part of our life. It must spread everywhere. As Osho said : be Buddha and Zorba !

Leave a Reply

